Layne's Blog

I Am The Summit – Week 10 Final Blog Post

| 0 comments

 I am THE SUMMIT

BY Layne 

 

I am The Summit

I am covered in flags, symbolizing that I am the last checkpoint

I wonder when someone new will reach me, or if they will make it at all

I hear crunching footsteps

I see triumphed faces

I want to see the boy make it

 

I am The Summit

I pretend that the climbers hurt themselves for a reason

I feel their happiness, and their sadness

I touch the sky

I worry about the people who are struggling to reach me

I cry when I see them fall, fail, or die

 

I am The Summit

I understand the climbers’ happiness

I say, “You can do it, boy! You can reach me!”

I dream that they will see their families again

I try to let them up, to watch the climbing party go farther up

I hope he makes it

I am The Summit

 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar